After 2 years at IB …

It has been 2 years since I opened my Interactive Brokers account. I paid sfr 160 in account management, received sfr 2,281 in dividends and my cumulative return has been a measly 1.86%. The cumulative performance graph is shown below.

SLI (green) vs My portfolio (blue)

SLI (green) vs My portfolio (blue)

Period (25 May) My portfolio Swiss Leader Index (SLI) Relative
2011-2012 -17.43% -12.22% -5.21%
2012-2013 25.75% 39.2% -13.45%

Given that my target return is 20% — in absolute terms, this is a very sobering fact. It would have been much better for me to invest in the Swiss Leader Index (SLI). It seems that with time the gap has increased instead of narrowing.

If this continues for the next 3 years then I will have to confront myself and switch to investing in indexes. At the moment I have an excuse that I am still in the early stages of my learning phase.

2 thoughts on “After 2 years at IB …

  1. Pingback: Introspecting by holdings | Absolute performance

  2. Pingback: One chart to go | Absolute performance

Leave a Reply

