Introspecting my holdings

Jun 13, 2013 My portfolio will profit from an introspection, especially given that my performance over the last 2 years has been quite abysmal [src].

Equity Invested
Tier 1 ABB, Bouygues, Tesco, ArcelorMittal, CAF, PostNL, Intel, MunichRe sfr 19,000
Tier 2 Dell, E.On, France Telecom sfr 14,000
Tier3 Bank of America, Banco Santander, Hewlett-Packard sfr 13,000

Tier 2 are the ones which I would prefer not holding — if better opportunities arise. Tier 3 are companies which are either outside my circle of competence (BAC, SAN) or I detest holding them (HPQ). This is a sad state of affairs because out of sfr 46,000 invested sfr 27,000 is not in companies I really like. This needs to change.

I will actively try to shift my holdings towards Tier 1. In 6 months I will check back to see if I have succeeded in doing so.

Oct 25, 2013 It has been four months since I looked at my portfolio as a whole. Here is the current breakup in terms of the Tier structure I defined above.

Equity Invested
Tier 1 ABB, Bouygues, Tesco, ArcelorMittal, CAF, PostNL, Intel, Fortress Paper, Nam Tai sfr 26,000
Tier 2 E.On, France Telecom sfr 12,000
Tier3 Bank of America, Banco Santander sfr 10,000

I still have sfr 46,000 invested and only sfr 22,000 are in the companies which I don’t really like for one reason or another. I feel much better about my portfolio now then I did in June. Especially, after cutting down.

One thought on “Introspecting my holdings

  1. Pingback: Liquidated my HP holding | Absolute performance

Leave a Reply

